Rave Reviews

Reviews for 2014-15 season
Piano Dialogue – David Jalbert and Wonny Song – December 7, 2014

Reviews for 2013-14 season
Matt Haimovitz, cello and Ontario Philharmonic Orchestra – November 5, 2013
Titanic Pleasures – November 5, 2013 John Terauds, The Star

Reviews for 2012-13 season
New Orford String Quartet – October 28, 2012

Reviews for 2011-12 season
Ofra Harnoy, cello & Anton Kuerti, piano – September 25, 2011
Dmitri Berlinsky, violin and the International Chamber Soloists – January 15, 2012

Reviews for 2010-11 season
I Musici De Montréal & pianist Katherine Chi – October 3, 2010
Afiara String Quartet & Wonny Song, piano – October 31, 2010
Debussy String Quartet – February 21, 2011

 

Articles

Mooredale Concerts has been privileged to enjoy reviews from the GTA’s major English newspapers as well as mentions in other publications like Sing Tao [Chinese] and Tandem [Italian-Canadian] and specific publications dedicated to classical music, such as Showtime Magazine, to name a few. We are proud to share with your some reviews from previous concerts.

“Kuerti at his best with quartet – elegantly contained, sophisticated, but never effete”

– The Globe and Mail, November 22nd, 2009

“Mooredale recital fluid, compelling”

– The Toronto Star, March 22nd, 2009

“[Kolja-Lessing creates] mounting excitement that tapers off into a mood of tranquility”

– ShowTimeMagazine.ca, March 22nd, 2009

“Father-and-son collaboration mesmerizes audience”

– ShowTimeMagazine.ca, January 12th, 2009

“the loving attention to subtle shifts of energy”

– ShowTimeMagazine.ca, April 12th, 2008

“[Kristine’sKompanions] feisty energy kept the harmonic complexity of this late Mozart piece poised”

– ShowTimeMagazine.ca, March 31st, 2008

“[Winston Choi] develops the drama, but tenderly and with humour”

– ShowTimeMagazine.ca, March 27th, 2007

Patron Comments

Please tell us about your concert experience! Send us your comments for posting.
Here are a few comments from our April 25, 2010 patron survey asking how we could improve our series.

“I’ve always been very happy and satisfied with your choices.”

“Nothing specific to add. I love your concerts!!”

“Don’t stop them – carry on as is – Excellent!”

“It is perfect!”

“Excellent series”

“Surprize me!! Very happy with the concerts EXCEPT for modern music.”

“You’re doing a wonderful job! Thanks to all.”

“Great as they are, but program notes in hard copy (or Internet) would be helpful. Coffee and cookies are very good!”

“The same – very nice!”

“You can’t – I’m beyond explanation each time I attend – INCREDIBLE”

“Excellent series. Geared to all tastes! Wonderful young & older & musicians with disabilities! A great experience for any age group. Keep up the fantastic work!”

“Difficult to say because your performances and venue are excellent”

“Mooredale Concerts are superb. I hope very little changes! Occasionally (eg: the Busoni sonata) the choice of music produces curiosities that really aren’t quite good enough. They are wonderful!”

“I am thoroughly satisfied with the time, location, venue, artists and structure of the Mooredale Concerts.”

“All concerts very enjoyable experience.”